We are another step closer to beginning our travels with our house and pet sitters taking up residence at our home. Yesterday Chris and I drove to Brisbane Airport to collect Carmel and Bill who flew in from Mackay. They will be looking after our cat Willow, the house and the garden while we are travelling.

Bimble at Lilyponds Holiday Park
Our home while travelling.

We have now moved into our caravan and are staying at Lilyponds Holiday Park in Mapleton that is very close to home. There are some outstanding chores we want to complete at home and a few more preparations to get the caravan set up how we want it. Missing and forgotten items need to be collected from home and some things that we have discovered we don’t need can be returned.

Sunday is our planned departure date to begin heading north. The town of Seventeen Seventy was going to be our first stop but the caravan park is booked out so we need to find another place to stop. We will not be stopping very long as we wish to get to Cooktown fairly quickly. We want to reach our northern most destination while the weather is cooler, then take out time travelling back to the Sunshine Coast for the start of December.

Once we have returned our next destination will depend upon what is happening with COVID-19 and travel restrictions. Our original plans were to have Christmas in Tasmania but our alternative is to go directly to South Australia. After summer we will travel north via Alice Springs to Darwin then the North West of Western Australia.

Plans are very flexible, but the caravan is our home now.